“MLP: FIM”: “Princess Cadence & the Angered Soul”: Chapter #4: “Ben Zane”

<– PREVIOUS CHAPTER:

“MLP: FIM”: “Princess Cadence & the Angered Soul”: Chapter #3: “The Origin of Cadence”

NEXT CHAPTER –>:

“MLP: FIM”: “Princess Cadence & the Angered Soul”: Chapter #5: “All the Connections”

CHAPTER #4: “BEN ZANE”

During the train ride to the old Vancouver Port, I was still wondering if my father, Dark Diamond, was still alive and may have been a spy for King Mephiles’ and his dark army. But, I decided to take my mind off of it when I talked to Twilight and Shining Armor. “Twilight,” I asked, “How did you know about this pony that will help us understand what’s been going on and where he or she resides at? What about Zecora in her hut at the Everfree Forest back at Ponyville?” “Well, I’ve heard about him in a pamphlet about him being a doctor as well as a professor of Equestrian history and spells that have never been covered into reality, until now,” replied Twilight, “But, Zecora’s out of town and she may have been already dead by now by Mephiles’ soul-stealing abilities and Celestia-knows, she could in danger by now because Mephiles could be out for revenge or even worse!” “Don’t worry, Twiley,” said Shining Armor, “We’ll be fine as long as we stick together and make sure nothing gets in our way and I’ll do everything I can to protect you two from Mephiles’ dark soul, like I did last time.” Twilight thought for a moment, before speaking up, “Hmm, maybe you’re right, it’s probably because of the way Celestia and Luna were killed and my friends could be in grave danger as well.”

“We’ll see,” I said, still feeling doubtful that Twilight’s friends would make it out alive. Just then, the train immediately stopped in the middle of a wooden bridge to a deep river at the bottom of the ravine below. We all jerked forward by surprise. “WHAT WAS THAT,” exclaimed Shining, “WHY HAVE WE STOPPED?!” Even all the other passengers complained about the train stopping in the middle of the bridge, except for one pony who was unicorn, but with its horn half-broken and with an eye-patch like a pirate, a black mane and tail, and a few chemicals as his cutie mark. “Psst,” he whispered, “Come here and hide, he’s back to harm us all.” We followed the stranger’s advice and hid behind the baggage doors, where he was waiting for us.

As we stayed put, the entire coach of the train began to feel cold with ice, fog, and freezing rain surrounding it. “Brrrr”, we all shivered, nervously in the eerily cold environment. “You better shut up, he’s here, King Mephiles’ soul is around us and will kill you if you don’t shut up.” Sure enough, the Pony was right because Mephiles began to look at the other passengers with his cold, demon eyes. “You foolish ponies thought that I would no longer existed when I died,” He said in a spooky tone, “BUT. YOU WERE WRONG, WHEN THE PONY DIES, THE SPIRIT…LIVES ON!!!! THAT PONY OR SHOULD I SAY, SOMETHING ELSE WAS ME, NOW THAT I WILL NEVER REST AND MOVE ON, I WILL GET WHAT I WANT, THE ONE THING THAT I HAD FOR MY ENTIRE LIFE, UNTIL, SHE STOLE IT FROM ME AND NEVER GAVE IT BACK AND I WILL MAKE SURE THAT THE ONE THING THAT I WANT WILL NEVER BE STOLEN FROM ME AGAIN!!!!!!!!!”

“She” stole it, I thought, Stole what? “NOW, I SHALL DO THE ONE THING THAT CAN HELP ME GAIN IT BACK,” continued Mephiles, “BY TAKING THIS FROM YOU!!!!” After that, the same magic urge that weakened Celestia back at Canterlot was cast on all the passengers inside the train, including us. “We–We have to go, NOW,” said the Stranger. “I think I know how to solve the problem,” said Twilight, confidently, before using her teleportation spell to teleport us to outside the train, just in time before Mephiles used his dark abilities to suck all of the passengers’, including the train’s crew, spirits, killing them in the process and growing stronger than ever before. “Who are you and how do you know us,” I asked, confused. “I’ve heard about you three and seen you all save Equestria many times, including you, Princess Twilight,” said the Stranger, making Twilight blush.

“Anyways, it appears I haven’t introduced myself, I can’t find my real identity, yet, but most ponies call me ‘Ben Zane'”, went on Ben Zane, “But, there’s no time for chit-chatting yet, we have to move, NOW!!!” As Ben Zane shouted it, we immediately ran, once King Mephiles chased after us. We were only a few feet towards the train station that was in the Vancouver Port that Ben Zane was supposed to meet us there, where Shining Armor immediately stopped and went back to face King Mephiles. “Shining Armor, what are you doing, GO,” I yelled. “He’s holding off Mephiles”, explained Twilight, “WE DON’T HAVE MUCH TIME!! WE NEED TO FOLLOW BEN TO THE STATION, LET’S GO, NOW!!!!” I reluctantly agreed to follow Twilight and Ben Zane to the Vancouver Train Station, just before Mephiles sadly killed Shining Armor by absorbing his soul.

We all gasped in horror and trauma, as Shining Armor collapsed to the ground, lifeless. “NOT–NOT MY SHINING ARMOR,” I screamed. “NOT MY B.B.B.F.F.,” Twilight yelled back. “Come on,” Ben Zane interrupted, “We can’t let Mephiles kill us too. Let’s go!” We followed Ben Zane again, weeping tears from our eyes, and into an old house near the bay. “I–I think I can distract him,” said Twilight, nearly sobbing. Just like that, Twilight used a light spell to blind Mephiles and drive him away from us.

Ben Zane looked out at the door, nobody was there. “I think he’s gone,” he said, “But, it’s not over yet. He might even steal more ponies’ ghosts and it may cause him to be too powerful enough for Equestria to handle and would be impossible to defeat. Unless…” “Unless what”, I asked. “Unless, if he has something that could defeat him”, responded Ben Zane, “I think I have it in my notes.” He pulled out a book, containing information about supernatural objects and connections with spirits of the dead.

“What’s that”, asked Twilight. “That, my Princess, is a The Alcrox Amulet”, began Ben Zane, “It’s an amulet that controls a spirit and whenever it gets destroyed, the spirit dies. But, if any attempt to destroy it, it will result in either a counterattack or even, Certain DEATH. It was created by Starswirl the Bearded to keep spirits controlled, before they could go on a rampage and may abuse the Amulet’s power to control Equestria and capture other souls to gain more power than we could possibly imagine.” “Then, somepony must have stolen the Amulet or even created a new one to make sure that Mephiles will be protected by the Amulet and will continue his revenge Scott-free”, I realized. “Then, it’s up to us to figure out a way to stop him, without destroying it and even killing us or attacked by it and help avenge my mentor, Celestia, and my Big Brother”, said Twilight, “However, we may need to figure out some things, before we strike at the appropriate time.” “And figure out more about what he said earlier,” I said, “I’m getting a sudden urge that he may want something more than souls, but, something ELSE!!”

“Like what”, asked Twilight. “I don’t know,” I replied, “I really don’t know.” Suddenly, Ben Zane began to put his hoof on his head, while groaning in pain. “Ben,” I asked, “What’s wrong?!” But, it was already too late, Ben Zane passed out, forcing me and Twilight to carry him into his bed and find out what caused him to collapse, unconscious. “I see–I see,” he began, “I see a blonde pony, running towards me.. I see a–an explosion.”

-TO BE CONTINUED-

2 thoughts on ““MLP: FIM”: “Princess Cadence & the Angered Soul”: Chapter #4: “Ben Zane”

Leave a comment